J.Lynn Johnston's Blahg!

I love my life! You should too…

I Rode A Horse!

-Lemme just say that I grew up in the suburbs. To a certain painful extreme. Once I hit college, I gratefully traded suburban life for city life, without the slightest glance back at tract home sprawl. Yesterday, my roots were made apparent when I traded my Diesel Jeans for Wranglers, and saddled up for a ride in Topanga Canyon…

-That’s right… I went for a little horsie ride with my girl. Except that the horses were huge. And I’d never ridden a horse before, so even if it was a “little” ride, it was quite the event for me. Seriously, this city kid has never been so sore! “Saddle Sore” they say… Yup. It hit me like a freight train today.

-My horse was named “Crescent,” he was BIG, and he was cool as hell. I’m used to people calling my Great Dane a horse (she’s HUGE for a dog), but I’m now convinced that the people who say things like this have never stood next to a REAL horse, let alone swung their leg over one. Anyway, I just love the concept of getting on TOP of a huge animal, and having it take you places. Motorcycles are great fun and everything, but they only respond when you twist the throttle. Horses go when you TALK to them, or make certain noises, or nudge them a certain way. It’s bad ass. Such a unique feeling.

-We spent about an hour and a half on a trail in the canyon with our Texan guide, Amanda. It was an awesome view down the mountains all the way to the ocean and Malibu. Since I was a newbie, we weren’t allowed to run the horses very much, but I did get a couple solid “canter” sessions in. I wanted to keep going faster and get the hang of it, but alas it was a very hot day, and some parts of the trail were pretty steep. So I guess I’ll have to wait until next time to really try my Seabiscuit Jockey stylings… It’s probably for the best, anyway… I can’t imagine how sore I would be if I’d gotten my way…

Love and saddlebags,
=j.lynn

March 10, 2004 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

