J.Lynn Johnston's Blahg!

I love my life! You should too…

P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing) Michael Jackson Cover

Oh, hey, hi!

-I’m lucky to count Andrew Heine as one of my long-time friends. We grew up camping with each others’ families and singing in choirs together (starting way back when I was seven years old). We even had the same piano teacher as kids.

-This recording/video footage is the result of a spontaneous road-trip get-together, and is owed to the magical power of Facebook status updates. Andrew asked the internet if anyone wanted to make music, and I suggested he come down to my parents’ house for the day and we could knock something out.

-After quick plans and not-so-quick drives were made… Recording gear was set up in the dining room, and Andrew laid down an amazingly inspired improvised arrangement of Michael Jackson’s hit on my mom’s Yamaha grand piano.

-We figured there wasn’t a better time to cover an MJ song…

-We slept on it, knocked out the vocals the next morning, and mixed after lunch (or something like that). Somewhere in there, we stopped to chase a wild turkey out of the yard too. Twice.

-Then Andrew drove back home, and I hacked this video together using Final Cut for the first time ever. *Whew*

-For the gear geeks (Fish):
Stereo pair of Shure SM-81 mics in the piano. AKG C-3000 for vocals.
Aphex 107 Tubessence preamp.
Pro Tools 8.
Mighty Mac Mini

Love and tribute,
=j.lynn

July 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Such good work, guys. Hearing it thru iTunes doesn’t compare to watching Andrew play & you sing it. I pretty much love it! Now if we can get you two together more often….

    Comment by Coopster | July 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. awesome

    Comment by Matt Boudreaux | July 23, 2009 | Reply

  3. Jeff, that was AMAZING. Made me all teary eyed & stuff. Y’all should make an album together, I’m sure it would be awesome! *HUGS*

    Comment by Sasha | July 23, 2009 | Reply

  4. I was in the kitchen doing dishes and cleaning up in general and had videos running randomly when your came through the Q. Strange, but the hair on the back of my neck started to stand up when I heard your song. I had to stop what I was doing to come and see who was singing this song. What a beautiful, haunting rendition…..The piano was superb and you guys pulled it together nicely….I don’t know who you are, but I’m big fan….I guess I will sum this up in the words of Billy Joel, “Man, what are you doing here…”

    Comment by sflanagan | September 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

